How to File a DBA in South Carolina (3 Simple Steps)

How To Use This Guide

Use our free guide below to file for a DBA in South Carolina:

Use A Professional Service

A professional service will handle filing your DBA on your behalf, allowing you to focus on the other needs of your new business.

4.4 out of 5 starsLegalZoom ($99 + state fee) for the most popular DBA filing service available.

4.6 out of 5 starsCorpNet ($108 + state fee) for a more personalized DBA filing service.

Step 1) Verify Name & Use SCBOS

step-1-dba-guideIf you're going to register a name other than your own legal name, the very first thing to do is check to see that this name isn't already taken, too similar to another, and that if applicable there are no trademark issues. To check, conduct searches using the Secretary of State Business Filing Search, and the TESS System through the U.S. Patent Office.

Then, you can either contact the Secretary of State to have the right assumed business name form sent to you, or you can leverage the SCBOS which is the South Carolina Business One Stop system. What's nice is that a) the registration isn't mandatory by law and b) doesn't have its own separate filing or registering fee.

Step 2) Correctly Fill Out Forms

step-2-dba-guideWhether you're dealing with a hard copy form of some kind, like for example a name reservation form, or whether you go through the SCBOS, take your time and read everything. Know exactly what's being asked of you before filing in or submitting anything.

This is especially the case if you don't have a lawyer and aren't working with a professional DBA filing service. Doubt and triple check everything!

Step 3) Submit Or Mail To SC State

mail-in-the-form-200x200Typically the last step involves either completing the SCBOS process or mailing your hard copy form(s) to the right place which will usually be told to you directly (usually in the beginning or ending of most official state documents). For hard copy, you'll likely need to have it notarized by an authorized individual but this may not be the case.

After you get the filing confirmation, you'll officially be the owner of a South Carolina DBA.

Need Help Filing Your DBA?

If you'd like help filing a DBA in South Carolina, feel free to read our reviews of the two most popular services.

  • LegalZoom DBA Review: Pricing starts at $99 + state fee. Best if you're looking for the most popular DBA filing service available.
  • CorpNet DBA Review: Pricing starts at $108 + state fee. Best if you're looking for great customer service.