How to File a North Carolina DBA

How to Use this Guide

To file a DBA in North Carolina, use the step-by-step guide below or hire a professional service to do it for you:

  • LegalZoom ($99 + state fee) if you want to use the most popular DBA filing service with free extra features.
  • CorpNet ($108 + state fee) if you want to use the DBA filing service with the best customer support.
Kayla Price
This Guide is Attorney Approved

Kayla Price is a licensed North Carolina attorney in business law, nonprofit law & more.

If you'd like a legal advisor on your side, set up a free consultation. Call (919) 307-5874.

Step 1) Secure Brand Name & Get The Forms

Website

Is your brand name already taken, too similar to another, or are there any potential trademark issues?

Action Steps:

  1. Conduct a search on the NC Secretary of State’s website using the Business Name Search tool.
  2. Conduct a search using the TESS System through the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office for potential trademark issues.
  3. Then, determine exactly which DBA forms you need to file. Head to this Business Forms section that lists them out.

If you don’t have legal counsel and aren’t working with a DBA filing service be sure to read everything carefully and take your time.

Step 2) Properly Fill Out The Form(s)

Register an LLC

Some will be easier and less complex than others, just follow the instructions on each to the letter and then there are two ways to submit: mail or online. Or, you could deliver yourself if you happen to already be in the area. If you choose to mail, you must be meticulous to avoid being denied. Some of the information that you need to prepare include:

  • Complete DBA name,
  • Description of the business using the DBA name,
  • Complete name and address of the DBA applicant,
  • Contact number of the business and
  • Signature of the applicant

Upon completion, double and triple-check every entry before having them notarized.

Action Steps:

  1. Make sure that the form is completed and checked.
  2. Then, make sure the form is notarized.

Step 3) Submit Completed North Carolina DBA Form

Mail in the Form

The last step in your DBA application is filing your form with the right offices. If you want to mail it, the mailing address can be seen within the form.

Action Step: After re-validating everything, you can file your North Carolina DBA Registration Form along with a filing fee of $20.

Need Help Filing a DBA?

Use one of these reliable DBA filing services & have all paperwork handled on your behalf. To get a closer look at which is right for you, feel free to read our reviews.

LegalZoom
  • Pricing Starts at
    $99

  • 1 Million+ Businesses Formed

  • Perfect for:
    Anyone wanting the most well known DBA filing service with best features

Read Review
CorpNet
  • Pricing Starts at
    $108

  • 100,000+ Businesses Formed

  • Perfect for:
    Anyone wanting to work with the service that has the best customer support

Read Review
BizFilings
  • Pricing Starts at
    $99

  • 300,000+ Businesses Formed

  • Perfect for:
    Anyone wanting to work with a DBA filing service with multi-location discounts

Read Review

This how-to guide on forming a North Carolina DBA is for informational purposes only and should be treated as such. It’s not a legal document nor a replacement of legal advice. If you have concerns regarding the legalities of filing a DBA in North Carolina, speak with a professional like K. N. Price Law.