File a New Jersey DBA yourself with our simple step-by-step guide. It’s free and easy!
LegalZoom and Rocket Lawyer are both reliable services that take care of all legal paperwork on your behalf.LegalZoom ($99 + State Fee) Rocket Lawyer ($99 + State Fee)
First, conduct proper entity searches through the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services. Then, if applicable head to the TESS System through the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office. This is to see if the name you want to file is available and that there aren’t any trademark issues.
Then you need to get an application for registration of an assumed name. You can download form C-150G Registration of Alternate Name from the NJ Division of Revenue or you can visit the County Clerk’s office where your business is located.
Filling out the paperwork can be very simple, or, depending on the nature of your business and where exactly it’s located there could be some hoops to jump through. For example figuring out which Statute to file under. Regardless, be ready with specific information including:
Instructions for the field-by-field entries should be included on most forms, read them carefully. In addition, each entry should be double and triple-checked before proceeding to the next step and getting them notarized.
The final step to filing a DBA in New Jersey is to submit the registration form. Since there’s no available online New Jersey DBA registration as of yet, you can submit your form together with the enclosed check payment to the New Jersey Division of Revenue through regular postal mail.
Alternatively, you can submit the form via over-the-counter or by fax. When submitting the ‘doing business as’ in New Jersey form, a check addressed to the Secretary of State should be enclosed. Cash is prohibited. All the details for regular mail, over-the-counter and fax submissions of the form is found on the form as well.
Filing Fee: $50 per transaction and an additional $15 for LPs, Corporations, and Non-Profit organizations and $25.00 for LLCs for expedited services in the 8.5 business hours’ time frame.
This is an informational guide on NJ DBA filing and should not be taken as legal advice. Expert advice from a business lawyer or an accountant should be consulted when you want to know the legalities involved in filing a New Jersey alternate name or starting a business in general.